Scooter Girl

I stumbled upon Oni Press’s comics after reading a post by Colleen Mondor a few years ago. I didn’t read comics growing up, but I’ve developed an interest since I started a graphic novel collection in the first school library I worked in, about ten years ago. Before reading Mondor’s post, I was reading a lot of superhero stuff (X-Men is a particular favorite) and grabbing a few literary graphic novels that came my way (Blankets by Craig Thompson). I didn’t (and still don’t) get manga, and while comics intrigued me, I was having a hard time finding those that fit my taste.
Enter Oni Press and their great catalog of original independent comics. I began trying to get my hands on the Polly & the Pirates series, picking up issues of The Local as they were released, and thoroughly enjoyed Courtney Crumrin & the Night Things. I also picked up Scooter Girl and the first Blue Monday book by Chynna Clugston-Major.

My typical complaint about comics, much as I enjoy them, is that I usually want more, if they’re good. I want more detail, more insight into the characters, lengthier stories – I usually finish a good comic slightly dissatisfied. Blankets is a rare exception (but at 800 or so pages, why would you need more? Thompson pretty much covers it!). For some reason that I may analyze later, I didn’t feel that dissatisfaction after finishing Scooter Girl – it just works as it is for me.
It’s a typical love story in many ways – boy meets girl, girl hates boy, boy tries desperately to win girl and boy and girl eventually live happily ever after. Aston Archer is a self-centered playboy you can’t help but love, even as you despise the way he treats women. Margaret Sheldon is the strong, smart & hip young woman we all want to be – and the only one who seems to be able to put Aston in his place.
The details make this story unique – the mod fashion, the scooters, the soundtrack. Music’s an important part of the book’s scene, and Clugston-Major includes listening suggestions to accompany the story

As always, there’s more out there if you want the full Scooter Girl experience. If it’s the scooters that catch your attention, check out Amazon’s list of Essentials for Scooter Fanatics (and if it’s scooters in comics, don’t miss Moped Army!). The punk comic vibe? Try Top 10 Best Punk Comics (although I’d have to add Punked to the list – not high school friendly, though). The artwork? Don’t miss Comics for Manga Lovers. If it’s the Mod style that holds appeal (and how could it not?) find out more at Wikipedia – unfortunately, the article doesn’t cite it’s sources, but it has some good basic info. Use it as a starting place, then do your own research & add to the entry!

Read an interview with the scooter riding mod comics artist

Facebook

LibraryThing

readingtech 

Find more Reading 2.0 ideas at the Reading 2.0 Wiki.

Leave a Reply

